What happens if my selection refuses to run? If your selection comes under starter’s orders but doesn't race, any bets are settled as losers. This applies to stalls starts, when a horse is left in the stalls, and also tape starts, where the tape is lifted but the horse doesn’t go with the field. Should your selection not come under starter’s orders, it will be classed as a non-runner and stakes will be returned. In this case, a Rule 4 deduction may be applied. This doesn’t include ante-post bets unless they’re a non-runner no bet (NRNB) at the time of placing the bet. For more information, please see our sports rules here. If you need assistance, please click here to see our contact details. Related articles What happens to my bet if there's a postponement/rain delay?